How to Delete ChatGPT Account: Learn the simple steps to remove your ChatGPT account and protect your data.
The internet has been full of ChatGPT-related talks since its release in November 2022. Surely, you might have also signed up for this platform after hearing about its impressive features.
The bot can perform various tasks like writing essays, programs, music lyrics, etc. These features make it ideal for almost every industry.
While some still use the platform, others have decided to give up. If you no longer want to access your ChatGPT account, you can delete it using a few steps.
This guide shares detailed steps on how to delete ChatGPT account.
Can you delete an Open AI or ChatGPT account?
Deleting a ChatGPT account is pretty simple. You can delete your account from ChatGPT if you no longer want to access it.
However, you cannot delete your ChatGPT account separately. Instead, you must delete your Open AI account to delete the ChatGPT account.
Open AI is ChatGPT’s parent company. To access ChatGPT, you need an Open AI account. Likewise, you need to delete the Open AI account to delete your ChatGPT account.
Remember, deleting a chatGPT account will delete your conversations and information. You won’t be able to access it later on.
How to delete ChatGPT account?
As mentioned above, to delete your ChatGPT account, you must delete your Open AI account.
When you delete your Open AI account, the ChatGPT account will automatically be deleted. Below are the steps to delete your ChatGPT account:
Step 1: Go to https://openai.com/login and sign into your account.
Step 2: Click the Help icon at the bottom-right of your screen.
Step 3: Click the Send us a Message option.
Step 4: Choose Account deletion and complete the steps on your screen.
Step 5: ChatGPT’s support team will receive your request and respond within four weeks. The support team will send you an email once your account is deleted.
Also Read – Why Chat GPT is so Slow?
Can you deactivate a ChatGPT account?
You’ve learned how to delete your ChatGPT account. But do you know that you can also deactivate your account instead of permanently deleting it?
Yeah, that’s right!
ChatGPT allows users to deactivate their accounts and preserve their conversions. You can then reactivate the ChatGPT account and restore all your data.
This is the best option when you want to stop using ChatGPT temporarily. It will retain your data allowing you to reaccess it in the future. Here is the process to deactivate your ChatGPT account:
Step 1: Go to https://openai.com/login and log into your account.
Step 2: Tap the Help icon at the bottom-right of your screen.
Step 3: Select the Send us a Message option.
Step 4: Click the deactivate my account option and complete the steps on your screen.
Step 5: ChatGPT’s support team will get your request and respond within two weeks. After deactivating your account, you will receive an email on your registered email ID.
Note – We highly suggest to try these method to fix if Chat GPT isn’t working before deactivating or deleting your account.
Does Deleting ChatGPT account delete my data?
Deleting a ChatGPT account deletes your data permanently. You cannot restore your conversations or account details after deleting them.
However, ChatGPT stores some information on its server for up to 90 days. You can access it by requesting the support team.
Further, if you plan to delete your ChatGPT account, back up the important information.