ChatGPT is an AI chatbot that helps generate relevant content, codes, conversations, and more. The conversations or chats between the user and ChatGPT are saved by OpenAI to improve the user’s experience. This helps ChatGPT understand the context of chats and provide answers during further conversations like follow-up questions and more.
ChatGPT conversations can be deleted by selecting the “Trash” button beside your prompt or simply clicking “Clear Conversations” at the bottom. However, a few prompts can’t be deleted in ChatGPT History.
Therefore, while having a conversation or raising questions on ChatGPT, users need to be extremely careful and ensure they are not sharing any personal or sensitive information.
Can you delete ChatGPT history?
You can delete ChatGPT saved conversations by clicking on the “Trash” icon on the left side of your page. However, a few prompts in ChatGPT History can’t be deleted. Therefore, it’s suggested by OpenAI not to share any private or sensitive data while having a conversation with ChatGPT.
Although if you want your entire history and data to be completely erased, you might need to request an account deletion. This will permanently remove all the data associated with your account. However, this means deleting your complete account, thus you are extremely sure before initiating the account deletion process.
How to Delete Chatgpt History
You can delete any conversation on the ChatGPT tab by clicking on the “Trash” icon beside the saved conversation name.
A Clear Conversation option is available at the bottom of the ChatGPT page, which can assist users in clearing all the saved chats at once.
Also, OpenAI has stated on its page specific prompts cannot be deleted on ChatGPT. Therefore, it’s suggested by ChatGPT not to share your personal information while having conversations with the AI chatbot. Also, at times you might be unable to view your previous threads on ChatGPT, but users will be able to review threads in the coming times.
Does ChatGPT save your history?
Yes, ChatGPT does save your history. OpenAI saves information to help improve users’ experience by helping the chatbot understand the context which can be useful for further conversations such as follow-up questions, rejecting improper requests, identifying errors, and more.
This will allow users to review the conversations that took place previously and help provide relevant and accurate outputs. OpenAI’s CEO Sam Altman, stated through Twitter on 1st March, “The data submitted to OpenAI API isn’t utilized for training, and we are beginning a new 30-days retention policy.
The time frame of how long the chat history is stored depends on the chatbot provider and third-party services like GPT-4 or GPT-3 that support the chatbot.
ChatGPT is an excellent AI chatbot that can effortlessly generate content and answer all the queries raised by users. However, regarding privacy and security, there are specific prompts that can’t be deleted on ChatGPT history. Therefore, users must be extremely careful while sharing or chatting with the AI chatbot and ensure no private or sensitive information is shared.
Although ChatGPT claims they store users’ data to improve users’ experience, hacking or exploiting a system might cause the disclosure of its users’ private information.